Premju Ġieħ l-Artiġjanat Malti 2017

Premju Ġieħ l-Artiġjanat 2017

The winners of the competition were announced on Monday 5th March 2018. the full list can be found below:

Category 1 – Crafts Products

This category recognises those crafts products which are innovative and creative. The following prizes will be given:

Subcategory A - Most Innovative Product: Textile

Winner: Liudmyla Dimech

Finalist: Joanne Zammit

Subcategory B - Most Innovative Product: Modelling

Winner: Tarcisio Azzopardi

Finalist: Jimmy Vella

Subcategory C - Most Innovative Product: Glass Work and Ceramics

Winner: Jennifer Mallia

Finalist: Paul Haber

Subcategory D - Most Innovative Product: Precious Metal and Jewellery

Winner: Maurice Borg

Finalist: Dominic Galea

Subcategory E - Most Innovative Product: Painting and Sculpting

Winner: Daniel Scerri

Finalist: Conrad Attard

Subcategory F - Most Innovative Product: Non-precious Materials

Winner: Francis Vella

Finalist: Carmel Azzopardi

Subcategory G - Most Innovative Product by a Group of Crafts Persons

Winner: Antoine Farruġia, Renald Bezzina, Anna Brincat, Keith Farrugia and Carmel Borg

Finalist: Soċjetà Filarmonika Santa Marija, Żebbuġ Għawdex


Category 2 – Crafts Inititiatives

This category recognises those initiatives which excelled in one or more of the following areas: teaching, researching, promotion and/or sales of Maltese Crafts.

Winner: Kummissjoni Kultura – Soċjeta’ Filarmonika Pinto Banda San Sebastjan,

Second Place: Jackie Roberts, Rachel Mogg Robinson, Mario Cordina

Finalist: Mary C. Abela


Category 3 - Award for Inclusiveness and Integration through Crafts

This category awards those organisations that increase inclusivity and integration through crafts. Individuals and businesses can participate only if they are in a formal partnership with an organisation.

Winner: Maria Regina College, Dun Manuel Attard Young Adults Education Resource Cetre

Second: Hospice Malta

Category 4: Recognition for Commitment to Crafts

This award will recognize and reward those crafts persons who, throughout the years, remained consistent and loyal towards their craftsmanship skills and for their commitment towards prestigious and worthy work produced throughout the years.

Winner: Joseph Debono

Selection Committee:

The selection committee for 2017 is made up as follows:


Mr. Noel Bartolo - Commerce Department

Deputy Chairperson:

Mr. Mark Xerri - Commerce Department


Mr. Kevin Camilleri - Malta Enterprise

Ms. Sylvana Mercieca - Ministry for Justice, Culture and Local Government

Mr. Joseph J Mifsud - Malta Society for Arts

Mr. Karl Parnis - Ministry for Education and Employment

Mr. Joe Micallef - Malta School of Arts

Mr. Alfred Caruana Ruggier - Malta School of Arts


Ms. Amanda Cassar

Past editions

Winners of the past editions can be found here (PDF File)